WhatsApp seems to have finally heard its users out and will soon update its ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature to let users delete sent messages within a longer duration of time. The update is still being tested on beta and should be available in the stable versions soon.The ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature was rolled out by WhatsApp in November 2017 when it allowed users to delete a sent message within seven minutes of it being sent. This was found to be too little a duration for most users.
sers can now record a portion of the voice note and lock it making sure that it gets saved in case the user accidentally lets go of the recording button. To be able to use the lock feature, users will have to tap the “mic” icon in the chat, after 0.5 seconds of which, WhatsApp will show pop up a new UI element, presenting a locked microphone button.
Another minor addition is the ability to view the size of a specific sticker pack before downloading it.
We do not have a timeline for the stable roll out yet but we should expect WhatsApp to roll out an update soon.